Board of Directors

The Board

The Board of Directors determines the Institute's policy, appoints the Executive Board and General Secretariat.

It receives, discusses and approves the activity report, the annual accounts and the Foundation's action program.

The Board of Directors comprises twelve members, divided into three colleges: founding members, ex-officio members and qualified personalities. The Government Commissioner, the Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board, the Management Board and the General Secretariat also attend in an advisory capacity.

Board of Directors

  • President : Johanna Rolland (2021-2024)
  • Secretary: Hélène Cazaux-Charles (2021-2024)
  • Treasurer: Anne Thévenot (2023-2024)

Board of Directors

Composition of the Board of Directors

Founding members

  • Johanna Rolland, Mayor of Nantes and President of Nantes Métropole.
  • Sébastien Daziano, Director of Strategy and Innovation, Veolia.
  • Anne Thévenot, Regional Director for Waste Recycling and Recovery - Centre-Ouest - Veolia.
  • Thomas Hunkeler, Professor of French literature at the University of Fribourg.


Members by right

  • CNRS, represented by Hamida Demirdache, Deputy Scientific Director of the CNRS Institut des Sciences Humaines et Sociales (InSHS).
  • Université de Nantes, represented by Carine Bernault, President of the Université de Nantes.


Qualified personalities

  • Jean-Marc Ayrault, Former Prime Minister (2018-2024).
  • Hélène Cazaux-Charles, State Councillor SE (2017-2024).
  • Dassault Systèmes, represented by Sébastien Massart, Head of Strategy and Corporate at Dassault Systèmes (2021-2024).
  • Karima Dirèche, Historian specializing in the contemporary history of the Maghreb, CNRS research director (2015-2024).
  • Rozenn Le Merrer, General Manager, Beaux-Arts Nantes Saint-Nazaire (2022-2025).
  • 1 seat to be filled


Members sitting in an advisory capacity

  • Sidonie Christophe, Government Commissioner.
  • Marc-Henri Soulet, Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board.
  • Luis Mora Rodriguez, Director.
  • Pierre-Etienne Kenfack, Deputy Director.
  • Emmanuelle Garcia, Executive Director-Secretary General.